DIY-ists

Leah
4 min readJan 28, 2021

On Doing It Yourself — A Lot

Picture with many tools

It occurred to me the other day that my sweetie and I do a lot (and I mean a lot) of DIY sorts of things. I decided to try to list them.

We live on a little over six acres of land, and we have our own well. So I guess we start there. We don’t have city water. We have our own septic system. We are not tied to the grid in that way.

If we could, we’d have solar and be completely off the grid. However, the roof of the house is too shaded for that. We have talked about putting up solar panels elsewhere, but we haven’t made that leap yet.

We don’t have garbage service to the house. We could get it, but A) it’s incredibly expensive and B) carting the trashcans up and down a quarter-mile driveway is honestly not something I want to have to do every week.

Instead, we haul garbage to what’s euphemistically called a transfer station. We pay $25 for a load. But we separate out a lot of stuff from the regular garbage before we haul it in.

We compost, so that takes care of almost all of the food waste.

Not all of it goes into the composter, though.

I make bone broth regularly, which takes a lot of the veggie scraps, as well as any spare bones. When we have a meal that has bones, I put the bones into a bag that I keep in the freezer…

--

--

Leah

Leah Cutter sold her first short story back in 1997, and continues to write and sell both her fiction and non-fiction. She supports herself with her writing.