Full Knee Replacement

Leah
5 min readOct 28, 2021

My Experience

Knee Replacement Plush Toy from GiantMicrobes

I don’t have one of those clever titles like, “Three Things Everyone Must Do Before Knee Surgery” or “Five Cools Tricks For a Trick Knee” or anything like that.

While I understand the economics of a click-bait title, I figure that maybe, just maybe, telling you of my experience will be enough of a value add that people will read (and like) this article, just as it is.

I’ve had knee issues for a very long time. I’ve injured my knees more than once. Back in March of 2020, I was having yet another round of knee issues. I had X-rays taken one week, and an appointment to see the surgeon the following week.

Lockdowns happened between those visits.

The surgeon told me at that time that I needed a full knee replacement. There was no cartilage left between the bones. I could opt to get the surgery right away, though I would last for a while without it if I took it easy (no jogging), built up the muscles around the knee, and kept stretching. Eventually, though, if I wanted to keep walking, I would need surgery.

However, 2020 was not the year to have any kind of surgery, particularly an elective surgery.

I did spend time strengthening my knee, and I continued to do yoga regularly. For a long while, I felt as though I’d dodged a bullet, that perhaps it…

--

--

Leah

Leah Cutter sold her first short story back in 1997, and continues to write and sell both her fiction and non-fiction. She supports herself with her writing.