Sleeping Amid the Chaos

Leah
4 min readOct 14, 2021

Thriving during a move

“Moving van” pulled up to the door of TH1

I’m kind of moving at the time I’m writing this.

The reason it’s only kind of is because the old location is about 120 yards away from the new location. As I’ve mentioned before, I currently live in a tiny house. We’ve spent the summer rebuilding an old barn on the property. So while the new place isn’t a separate house, we’ve taken to calling it Tiny House 2, or TH2, and the original tiny house TH1.

In addition to the two locations being very close, there isn’t that much to move. I mean, come on, it’s a tiny house, right? How much stuff could I possibly cram into less than 200 square feet of living space?

Quite a lot, it turns out.

While I love TH1, I did most of the work on it, and Mistakes Were Made. In part, that was because it was the first house that I’d ever done that much work on. (Insulation, wiring, sheetrock, floor, reclaimed hardwood flooring on the ceiling and walls, etc.) The other part of the problem with TH1 is that it has a loft and a set of steep stairs.

When I put the stairs in, I figured those would be good for me. Those stairs would help me maintain my fitness, balance, etc.

Then I injured my knee. And re-injured it. And am going to have surgery to get it replaced soon.

--

--

Leah

Leah Cutter sold her first short story back in 1997, and continues to write and sell both her fiction and non-fiction. She supports herself with her writing.