Writing with Chronic Illness

Continuing forward despite, well, everything

Leah
5 min readNov 19, 2020
Brick wall with bandaids on it

I have a chronic condition. Basically, this means that I cannot count on having good weeks, able to be productive, and writing every day. I will have a good week, with maybe a few days thrown in for good measure. However, being healthy for at least fourteen days in a row, well, that hasn’t happened in years.

What am I dealing with? Hormones run amok, for the most part. I have great hope that some year, my hormones will calm down and I’ll stop having meh days.

Until then, I deal with it as if it’s a chronic illness because that’s what it looks and behaves as.

I’ve blogged about this before, but I figured I’d try to pull all my thoughts into a single piece, for those of you who are struggling as I have been. One of the things I’d suggest, picking up Kristine Kathryn Rusch’s book on the topic as well: Writing with Chronic Illness.

A lot of writers will tell you that you must write every day. That may or may not be possible given your condition. I cannot write every day. I’d like to be able to. Believe me, I write as often as I can. (My regular monthly word count goal is 50K words per month.) And it always, always makes me angry when I can’t write. I frequently have been thinking about whatever story I’m working on, and I…

--

--

Leah

Leah Cutter sold her first short story back in 1997, and continues to write and sell both her fiction and non-fiction. She supports herself with her writing.