Yet Another Pandemic Anniversary Post

Leah
5 min readApr 1, 2021

Ruminations on the Year That Was

I figured since everyone else is doing it, I may as well tag along and do one.

I was in Portland, OR the week before WA state locked down. I was doing a writing marathon, finishing off the second novel in a series. I wasn’t taking the pandemic seriously, though I had a friend who was warning me of what was coming. She was freaking out. She’d just bought an entire case of rubbing alcohol and was advising me to do the same.

I just didn’t know. And I didn’t know enough to start doing my research.

I drove back to WA after the day after the lockdown started. It was amazing to me how empty the roads were. Nobody was out. And everyone was so polite, at least until I got off the interstate and onto a local highway that was a bit more crowded.

There should have been more cars on the road. I’d never seen the roads this empty, not unless it was 2 AM. It kind of freaked me out.

Fortunately, I live with my husband in a rural area, on a large piece of land, in my own tiny house. I don’t really have neighbors or even houses we can see. So I felt safe enough there.

It took me a couple of weeks to wrap my head around the fact that we were in lockdown for a while. My husband understood that it would be a year or…

--

--

Leah

Leah Cutter sold her first short story back in 1997, and continues to write and sell both her fiction and non-fiction. She supports herself with her writing.